Databases

Longwood Public Library

9:30am-9:00pm

(631) 924-6400

Longwood Public Library
800 Middle Country Road
Middle Island, NY 11953
United States

View on Google Maps

Sun: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Mon: 9:30am-9:00pm

Tue: 9:30am-9:00pm

Wed: 9:30am-9:00pm

Thu: 9:30am-9:00pm

Fri: 9:30am-9:00pm

Sat: 9:30am-5:00pm

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center from EBSCO provides free teacher resources including indexing and abstracts for peer-reviewed journals as well as best practices, curriculum development, teacher education and more.

Inside the Library: click here.

Outside the Library: click here.

The Civil War Letters of Albert and Edward Bayles

Albert and Edward Bayles, two brothers from Middle Island, enlisted in the Union Army in 1862, signing on to Company A of the 139th New York Volunteers. From August 1862 until their deaths in June 1864, they wrote over 50 letters home, which are now in the Thomas R. Bayles Local History Room. These letters detail the brothers' lives as soldiers in the Civil War and their impressions of the Longwood community in the mid-1800s.

Click here to access this resource.

The Mailbox Plus

The Mailbox is an online resource with more than 50,000 learning objects, lesson plans, and ideas for parents and elementary school teachers.

Click here to access this resource.

The New York City Municipal Archives Historical Vital Records

The New York City Municipal Archives is undertaking a mass digitization project to provide online access to 13.3 million historical birth, death, and marriage records.

Click here to access this resource.

The Wall Street Journal 1984-Currrent

Find business, financial, current events and international information.

Inside the Library: click here.

Outside the Library: click here.

The Wall Street Journal Historical, 1889-2012

Access to full text articles from 1889 through 2012.

Inside the Library: click here.

Outside the Library: click here.

Thomas Bayles Collection

The Thomas R. Bayles collection includes paintings of historic landmarks in Coram, Ridge, Yaphank and various other sites on Long Island, using watercolors. These were painted by Peter Haase and donated by Donald M. Bayles. Also included in the collection are engravings of military officers and government officials from the 19th century and photos from a prisoner of war camp in WW2.

Click here to access this resource.

TrueFlix

TrueFlix is the only online resource that leverages the award-winning True Books content to help students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process. Click here to access this resource.

Click here to access this resource.

Borrowing Guidelines

Valid Adult Longwood Public Library Card in good standing.
A maximum of three items from this collection may be borrowed at a time.
Equipment & Gadgets are available at the Adult Reference Desk and must be returned to the Circulation Desk. Gadgets placed on hold may be checked out at the at the Circulation Desk when ready for pickup. Equipment & Gadgets may not be returned to the book drop.
If any item is lost or damaged, the full value of the item will be charged to the patron account.
The library has a limited number of items in the collection; if the item comes back late or is lost, the library may not be able to honor reservations.
The use of some items may require precertification or training; if there are any precertification requirements, there will be a link in the item description to the required training.